Home > Our Area > Churches and Chapels of Gwynedd > Anglesey > Agy 28 - Llaneilian

Llaneilian - Agy 28

St Eilian's Church

One of the most fascinating and best preserved medieval churches on the island as a result of sympathetic restorations of the 19th and 20th century. Possibly founded in the 6th C. The earliest surviving masonry dates from the 12th to the 15th C and has an unusual pyramidal spire on top The interior of the church is noted for its wooden carvings and 15th C oak rood screen which features a painting of a skeleton A 14th C stone chapel is linked to the church via a passage. A wooden chest with iron bands, dated 1667 and known locally as "Cyff Eilian", was used to collect donations from parishioners and pilgrims. Also to be seen in the church are a pair of large wooden tongs dated 1748. In those days it wasn't unusual for people to bring their dogs into the church, and these were used to evict the unruly ones.

Memorial Inscriptions

The following graveyards have been transcribed and the publications are available for purchase in our online shop.

Useful Links

Genuki

Coflein - Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales